A few days ago the website for the 2015 IFAF World Championships was launched along with the release of tickets for all the match days.

We now have the schedule for the world championships and Australia will open up against South Korea:

Thursday, July 9

  • Game 1: Australia vs. South Korea, noon
  • Game 2: France vs. Brazil, 3:30 p.m.
  • Game 3: United States vs. Mexico, 7 p.m.
  • Bye: Japan

* The Parade of Countries and Opening Ceremonies will be held prior to United States vs. Mexico.

Sunday, July 12

  • Game 4: Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, noon
  • Game 5: Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, 3:30 p.m.
  • Game 6: Winner Game 3 vs. Japan, 7 p.m.
  • Bye: Loser Game 3

Wednesday, July 15

  • Game 7: Loser Game 5 vs. Winner Game 4, noon
  • Game 8: Loser Game 3 vs. Loser Game 6, 3:30 p.m.
  • Game 9: Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 6, 7 p.m.
  • Bye: Loser Game 4

Saturday, July 18

  • 7th place and bye: Loser Game 7
  • 5th place: Loser Game 4 vs. Winner Game 7, noon
  • Bronze medal game: Loser Game 8 vs. Loser Game 9, 3:30 p.m.
  • Gold medal game: Winner Game 8 vs. Winner Game 9, 7 p.m.


Canada, originally the No. 2 seed, withdrew from the event earlier this month. Teams that would have been scheduled to play Canada within the tournament format will receive byes.

If the Australian Outback can win the opening game against South Korea they will take on the winner of theĀ France vs. Brazil if they lose that game they will play the loser of theĀ France and Brazil match up.

The tournament format is pretty simple, for Australia to make it to the Gold Medal Game they must win all their matches during the tournament.


Schedule set for IFAF World Championships


Gridiron DownUnder's Grand Poobah

Post navigation