Geelong Buccaneers Womens VIC BOWL Champs

The Geelong Buccaneers have gone back to back after defeating the Melbourne Uni Chargers 38-24 in what was a high scoring and entertaining game of football.

Gridiron Victoria experimented with Facebook LIVE to provide a live stream of the second half of the game through the social media platform you can watch the replay below.

You will also find a number of Photos by Barend Van Den Hoek via his facebook Page.

After the Women’s VIC BOWL the season awards were announced as well as the All Victorian Team. The biggest snub of the night was reserved for Buccaneers head coach Daniel Noonan who despite winning back to back championships can’t manage to win the coach of the year.

2016 AwardsRichelle Cranston 2-time-MVP

Most Valuable Player
Richelle Cranston (Geelong Buccaneers) (Pictured)

Offensive MVP
SPC (Northern Raiders)

Defensive MVP’s
Jess Johnson (Melbourne Uni Chargers)
Jordan Di Mizio (Northern Raiders)

Offensive Line MVP
Nat Jones (Croydon Rangers)

Defensive Line MVP
Nicole Webster (Northern Raiders)

Rookie of the Year
KC Ramirez (Melton Wolves)

Special Teams MVP
Amber Rawson (Northern Raiders)

Coach of the Year
Matthew Jenkins (Northern Raiders)

2016 All Victorian Women’s Team

Congratulations to the following ladies selected to the 2016 All Victorian Women’s Team:

All Victorian Offense

Quarterback: SPC (Northern Raiders)
Wide Receiver: Jazz Drewry (Melton Wolves)
Wide Receiver: Paige Farrell (Northern Raiders)
Slot Receiver: Theresa Eladama (Northern Raiders)
Slot Receiver: Temikka Beeston (Geelong Buccaneers)
Right Guard: Matilda Vaosea (Pakenham Silverbacks)
Left Guard: Nat Jones (Croydon Rangers)
Centre: SJ Mills (Northern Raiders)
Tailback: Richelle Cranston (Geelong Buccaneers)
Fullback: Kelly Dauria (Croydon Rangers)
Utility: Bliss Love (Croydon Rangers)

All Victorian Defense

Defensive NT/DT: Nicole Webster (Northern Raiders)
Defensive End: Lema Laumua (Pakenham Silverbacks)
Defensive End: Andrea Meni (Melbourne Uni Chargers)
Linebacker: Maree Neophytou (Pakenham Silverbacks)
Linebacker: Jess Johnson (Melbourne Uni Chargers)
Linebacker: Tina Lund (Croydon Rangers)
Linebacker/SS: Jordan Di Mizio (Northern Raiders)
Cornerback: Aneen Groenwald (Croydon Rangers)
Cornerback: Rachael Webster (Northern Raiders)
Free Safety: Rosemarie Trego (Melbourne Uni Chargers)
Utility: Kyle West (Geelong Buccaneers)

All Victorian Special Teams

Returner: Tanya Russell (Croydon Rangers)
Punter: Aneen Groenwald (Croydon Rangers)
Kicker: Amber Rawson (Northern Raiders)

Congratulations to everyone on a fantastic 2016 season!

Geelong Buccaneers Womens Champs & season awards


Gridiron DownUnder's Grand Poobah

Post navigation