The Ray Guy Award committee announce ten semifinalists for the 2015 Ray Guy Award, which recognizes the most outstanding punter in college football.

We were excited to see four Australian’s included the 10 semifinalists including 2014 winner Tom Hackett (pictured) playing for Utah. The other three Australian’s are Cameron Johnston a junior at Ohio State, Alex Kinal a senior at Wake Forest and Nick Porebski a sophomore at Oregon State.

Beside just being Australian the four players have something else in common, they are all a part of the Pro Kick Australia program. Nathan Chapman and the team from Pro Kick can already claim the past two Ray Gay Award winners with Tom Hornsey in 2013 and Tom Hackett in 2014, will they make it 3 years in a row…

The full list of semifinalists is as follows:

  • Michael Carrizosa (So.), San Jose State
  • Riley Dixon (Sr.), Syracuse
  • Tom Hackett (Sr.), Utah
  • Hayden Hunt (Jr.), Colorado State
  • Cameron Johnston (Jr.), Ohio State
  • Drew Kaser (Sr.), Texas A&M
  • Alex Kinal (Sr.), Wake Forest
  • Nick Porebski (So.), Oregon State
  • Austin Seibert (Fr.), Oklahoma
  • Johnny Townsend (So.), Florida


A national voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media and former Ray Guy Award winners will decide the three award finalists, who will be announced on November 24 2015.

Voters will then cast a second round of ballots to decide the winner which will be announced on Thursday, December 10 at 7pm (New York Time).

Good luck to the four Australians we would love to see three awards in a row head down under.

Four Australian’s in Ray Guy Award Semifinalists


Gridiron DownUnder's Grand Poobah

Post navigation

One thought on “Four Australian’s in Ray Guy Award Semifinalists

Comments are closed.